Horatio Alger Association of Canada expands scholarship program to CEGEP students in Quebec

MONTREAL, QUEBEC, August 1, 2016 – The Horatio Alger Association of Canada today announced the expansion of its Canadian scholarship program in Quebec to include CEGEP students planning to pursue a university education.

The Association’s scholarships were previously available in Quebec only to high school students entering a CEGEP program. The expansion ensures that more Quebec students have the chance to apply for the Association’s need-based scholarships for all levels of post-secondary education.

High school students will continue to have the opportunity to apply for the scholarships as well. The scholarships can be applied to a 3-year CEGEP vocational program, or to a 2-year pre-university CEGEP program with the remaining funds used for university studies.

The scholarship application process is open as of today. A total of 85 need-based scholarships of up to $10,000 will be awarded across Canada.

Horatio Alger scholarships are awarded to deserving students in financial need who have overcome significant adversity while demonstrating strength of character, strong academics, a commitment to pursuing higher education, as well as a desire to contribute to society.

Those interested can apply by visiting The deadline for submissions is October 25, 2016.

The new policy only affects applicants in the province of Quebec. Students in their terminal year of high school in the rest of Canada continue to have the opportunity to apply for the Horatio Alger Scholarships to help their post-secondary studies.

About the Horatio Alger Association of Canada

The Horatio Alger Association of Canada, the Canadian affiliate of the Horatio Alger Association of Distinguished Americans, Inc., is a charitable organization dedicated to the simple but powerful belief that hard work, honesty and determination can conquer all obstacles. The Association honours the achievements of outstanding individuals who have succeeded in spite of adversity by bestowing to them the Horatio Alger Award and granting them lifetime membership into the Association. Through the generosity of Horatio Alger Members, the Horatio Alger Association of Canada awards scholarships annually to deserving young people in every province and territory. Members of the Association include Dominic D’Alessandro, Murray Edwards, David Foster, Serge Godin, Wayne Gretzky, Rebecca MacDonald, the late G. Wallace F. McCain, the Right Honourable Brian Mulroney, Jim Pattison, David E. Ritchie, Gerald W. Schwartz, Isadore Sharp, Prem Watsa and Rick Waugh. For more information, visit The Association can also be found on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram.



Tom Kott, HATLEY Strategy Advisors, 514.316.7082, [email protected]

Find a Member